The Longue Durée of my Procrastination

book-stack

I have a monster of a book project that is sitting on the bottom shelf on my closet in my office. Sometimes when I open that closet to retrieve papers, it hisses at me and lashes at my ankles. In a panic flight mode, I hurriedly close the door on it, making a promise that I will get to it after x and x is done.

Yesterday, the monster-keeper (aka the book editor– and I don’t mean this in a bad way) sent a very angry email asking me to explain my extremely long-drawn out delays in a report that will be forwarded to be re-examined. For a moment, I froze. Does this mean I may not get to publish? And to that, he added, “You had so enthusiastically taken up…”. Indeed… whatever happened to me? I had let the editor down …

A signed book contract is something I think most rookie graduate students (me, a couple of years ago and most probably still, now) would clamour for but I think I under-estimated the amount of work involved given that over the years, I had completed my MA dissertation, my daughter was born, my mother fell really ill, not to mention my full-time work on top of everything else. When I thought that I should write the book, I was guilt-tripped into looking at my dissertation instead. Now that I have finished my MA dissertation and am just waiting to start the Phd programme, I need to tame this monster. But I glance in the direction of the closet where it lays and let out a sigh.

Where had my enthusiasm gone?

I’m not sure why this is happening to me but after I have spent much time elbows deep in a research topic, I tend to get so sick of it. And then I get distracted by another conference/ paper/ submission that I can’t wait to get started on that. I need to stop and take a breather (no, not procrastinate, and this is why so urgently I need to embark on the Breathe Project that I had written about previously). I need to take on what I can handle and be really realistic about it. Thankfully the research was based on my honours year thesis and I only have to update it with other material but it has been years since I looked at it so I need to re-acquaint and fall back in love.

If you have been in a similar situation and have fallen out of love with your research you once so passionately loved, please let me know! I’m trying to get my head around this.

 

One thought on “The Longue Durée of my Procrastination

Leave a Reply

